Senate now reviewing rushed FBI report as White House remains confident that Brett Kavanaugh will be confirmed.

By | 2018-10-04T12:10:42+00:00 October 4th, 2018|Categories: News|Tags: , , , , , , |42 Comments

It looks as if this thing is turning out just as we feared. 

Courtesy of WaPo:

The Senate began reviewing the FBI’s completed report on Supreme Court nominee Brett M. Kavanaugh on Thursday morning, as the White House stood by President Trump’s nominee, signaling nothing sufficient had been found to corroborate allegations of sexual misconduct while he was a teenager.

The White House said overnight that it is “fully confident” that the Senate will confirm Kavanaugh, whose confirmation process has been roiled by the allegations of three women about his behavior more than three decades ago.

“The president, the White House are firmly behind Brett Kavanaugh,” White House spokesman Raj Shah said during an appearance Thursday morning on CNN. “We believe that all the Senate’s questions have been addressed through this supplemental FBI investigation.”

Shah said that the FBI agents had reached out to 10 witnesses — nine of whom were interviewed– and that no one had corroborated the account of Christine Blasey Ford, the first woman to accuse Kavanaugh of sexual assault.

So they did not find any reason to disqualify Kavanaugh for confirmation, color me unsurprised. 

There may be an obvious reason for that.

Courtesy of NBC News:

More than 40 people with potential information into the sexual misconduct allegations against Supreme Court nominee Brett Kavanaugh have not been contacted by the FBI, according to multiple sources that include friends of both the nominee and his accusers.

More than 20 individuals who know either Kavanaugh or Ramirez, who has accused the nominee of exposing himself to her while the two attended Yale University, have not heard from the FBI despite attempts to contact investigators, including Kavanaugh’s roommate at the time and a former close Ramirez friend.

A senior U.S. official and two other sources briefed on the details of the FBI investigation confirmed to NBC news that the FBI’s work on the Brett Kavanaugh matter remains significantly limited in scope, and that it’s unlikely agents will be allowed to interview many, if any, additional witnesses before the probe wraps up this week.

One current and two former FBI officials confirmed to NBC News that dozens of witnesses have come forward to FBI field offices who say they have information on Brett Kavanaugh, but agents have not been permitted to talk to many of them. To the extent that any interviews have been done, the officials say, it’s not clear the information will be considered as part of the FBI’s limited scope inquiry.

So now the inquiry is over and sure enough, the FBI did not interview any of these people. 

This was the response from Democrats. 

And as always Donald Trump is the quiet voice of reason in all of this. 


Okay maybe “voice of reason” was a little inaccurate.

By the way, the “voters” that Trump is talking about are actually just the deplorables who show up to his sad little Hitler rallies.

That is not the case out here among the average American people.

For instance:

A group representing 100,000 congregations and 45 million churchgoers across an array of Christian denominations in the U.S. has called for the nomination of Brett Kavanaugh to be withdrawn.

The National Council of Churches statement said, “Judge Kavanaugh exhibited extreme partisan bias and disrespect towards certain members of the committee and thereby demonstrated that he possesses neither the temperament nor the character essential for a member of the highest court in our nation.” The statement also alleged misstatements and “outright falsehoods” in his testimony.

A later addition to the statement, as reported by the Religious News Service, added a call for a full and “unhindered investigation into allegations of sexual assault.”

So much winning. 

Update: There are anti-Kavanaugh protests cropping up all over Capitol Hill.

Methinks that if the Senate confirms Kavanaugh that the fight will have just begun. 

About the Author:

This blog is dedicated to finding the truth, exposing the lies, and holding our politicians and leaders accountable when they fall far short of the promises that they have made to both my fellow Alaskans and the American people.

42 Comments

  1. Hudson October 4, 2018 at 11:06 am

    Per the Washington Post — Over 1700 law professors from over 160 law schools have signed letter opposing Kavanaugh’s confirmation. They say he showed “a lack of judicial restraint” last week, something that would be disqualifying for any judicial nominee. This movement grew within hours of his testimony which so many found distressing. (Have tried to put the link in here but for some reason I am unable to do that today.)

    The letter is going to the Senate!! I sure hope they all get it in time and take to heart what these professional jurists think of this nominee.

  2. FUCK THE DEPLORABLES October 4, 2018 at 11:54 am

    the deplorables want a white-only country of gun-toting, raw-meat-eating, drunken, wife-subservient, bookless, educationless, homogeny.

    they are killing the whole fucking world.

    these people ARE the people who – as they murdered jesus – heard him say “bless them, for they know not what they do”.

    FUCK THE DEPLORABLES.

    • Blue Wave October 4, 2018 at 1:20 pm

      So not surprised. That anus faced pig is the poster boy for the GOP.

  3. wv October 4, 2018 at 1:15 pm

    https://www.rawstory.com/2018/10/sen-joe-manchin-says-thrown-room-reading-fbis-brett-kavanaugh-report/

    Undecided Dem Sen Manchin tells reporters he has been “thrown out” of the room where he’d been reading the only copy of the FBI report because it was the “Republicans’ turn” to read it. He says he has to come back tomorrow to finish, then will make a decision on Kavanaugh.
    12:22 PM – Oct 4, 2018

    • Anonymous October 4, 2018 at 3:16 pm

      He is a wuss, instead of worrying about his stupid senate seat he should be worried about the politicization of the supreme court.

      Since when are they worried about what their constituents want, he should suck it up and vote NO, there are plenty of reasons to vote NO besides his predatory and drinking habits.

  4. Anonymous October 4, 2018 at 1:25 pm

    https://www.politicususa.com/2018/10/04/kavanaughs-momentum-is-slowing-as-jeff-flake-is-having-issues-and-doubts.html

    https://www.politicususa.com/2018/10/04/democratic-senator-heitkamp-a-no-on-kavanaugh-nomination.html

    “Republicans moved forward with plans for a key procedural vote on Friday and a final vote on Saturday on confirming the conservative federal appeals judge chosen by Trump for a lifetime job on the nation’s top court.”

    https://www.politicususa.com/2018/10/04/democratic-senator-heitkamp-a-no-on-kavanaugh-nomination.html

  5. #meToo October 4, 2018 at 1:50 pm

    #CancelKavanaugh and #BelieveSurvivors

  6. Anon October 4, 2018 at 1:57 pm

    https://www.rawstory.com/2018/10/pay-attention-retiring-supreme-court-justice-john-paul-stevens-changed-mind-supporting-brett-kavanaugh/

    https://www.rawstory.com/2018/10/trump-supporter-arrested-threatening-slaughter-senators-families-not-supporting-brett-kavanaugh/

    “I can tell it seems I will be sacrificing my life for my country,” Patrick wrote on Sept. 29. “But I am ready and will know who needs to be killed after the vote to put Kavanaugh on the Supreme Court.”

    “Getting ready if Kav is not confirmed,” he wrote in a Sept. 22 Facebook post. “Whoever I think is to blame may God have mercy on their soul .. just cleaned out the gun shop where I get guns ammo and target practice .. bought all their 50 cal hollow points. I expect to be confronted and I will be ready to kill and ready to die.”

  7. anon October 4, 2018 at 2:00 pm

    “The Iowa Republican was asked if his committee would refer sexual assault accuser Dr. Christine Blasey to be prosecuted.

    “I don’t know,” Grassley replied. “I don’t know if there’s any reason to. What I’d like to do when we get all done because this is almost rock bottom, I would like to have the future mending things so we can do things in a collegial way that the United States Senate ought to do and particularly when it comes to Supreme Court nominations.”

    “And you folks can have something to do with this,” Grassley charged angrily.
    “Now, I would never use the word fake news. I consider you folks policemen for our democratic system of government, but I want to show you where some of you have bias.””<WTF

    $nake In the Gra$$ley

  8. Anon October 4, 2018 at 2:14 pm

    https://thinkprogress.org/senator-orin-hatch-shoos-away-sexual-assault-survivors-b49db7111dfa/

    Sen. Hatch was accused of “slut-shaming” Julie Swetnick, Kavanaugh’s third accuser, when his office Twitter account sent out a letter from one of Swetnick’s former partners describing her sexual preferences and added that he initially thought Swetnick was a “high-end call girl.”

    https://thinkprogress.org/senate-judiciary-committee-news-conference-kavanaugh-confirmation-vote-lies-mistaken-identity-theory-f97cc2c30b41/

    Hatch and Cornyn simply pretended those affidavits don’t exist.

    “We have found nothing, absolutely nothing to corroborate accusations,” Hatch falsely claimed at one point.
    Asked who was responsible for limiting the FBI investigation into Kavanaugh, Sen. Mike Lee (R-UT) claimed “we did not come up with a list of people the FBI should interview.” But that claim directly contradicts what White House spokesman Raj Shah said earlier Thursday, when he told CNN that “an initial list of four was provided by the Senate.”

    https://thinkprogress.org/john-cornyn-compares-republicans-to-atticus-finch-in-race-to-confirm-kavanaugh-5facdf68f62a/

    “We all remember that Atticus Finch was a lawyer who did not believe that a mere accusation was synonymous with guilt. He represented an unpopular person who many people presumed was guilty of a heinous crime because of his race and his race alone. We could learn from Atticus Finch now.”

    • viv October 4, 2018 at 3:24 pm

      Can you imagine what Atticus Finch would have thought of a bucket of vomit like Orrin Hatch?

  9. cnn October 4, 2018 at 2:24 pm

    “Sen. Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND) says she will not vote to confirm Judge Brett Kavanaugh to the Supreme Court.”

  10. Anonymous October 4, 2018 at 2:37 pm

    .@JeffFlake: “We’ve seen no additional corroborating information,” adding he needs to finish reviewing the material. Flake also said he agrees with Senator Collins that the investigation was thorough.

    https://slate.com/news-and-politics/2018/10/collins-flake-murkowski-fbi-kavanaugh-whip-count.html

  11. CoverUp October 4, 2018 at 2:56 pm

    three friends came forward to swear to senators that she’d told them the story before his nomination was announced in July.

    Their sworn affidavits were significant, since they indicated Ford had not made up her accusation just to smear President Donald Trump’s pick for the Supreme Court
    those affidavits from Ford’s friends have seemingly been forgotten.

    “I have not seen an affidavit to that effect,” Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), another undecided senator, told HuffPost on Wednesday.

    https://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/christine-blasey-ford-affidavits_us_5bb660bbe4b01470d04fcc5d

  12. Anon October 4, 2018 at 3:00 pm

    “Centrist Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) has not indicated which way she is leaning, either, simply telling HuffPost that she was about to read the FBI report. Murkowski did not attend a briefing on the report earlier in the day, preferring instead to hear it in person.”

    Murkowski just went into FBI report viewing room. Didn’t say if she’s any closer to making decision on Kavanaugh. “I’m gonna read the FBI report,” she said, disappearing into the room.
    8:12 AM – Oct 4, 2018

    Kavanaugh passed the committee on Friday pending a “gentlemen’s and women’s agreement” on the investigation. The White House announced very early Thursday that it had received the FBI’s report and sent it on to the Senate, saying the administration is “fully confident” in Kavanaugh’s confirmation.

    While Ramirez was interviewed by the FBI, Ford was not. Attorneys for Ford blasted the report shortly after its release and stated that the FBI’s effort “cannot be called an investigation.”

    https://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/flake-murkowski-collins-kavanaugh-vote-hints_us_5bb633b1e4b0876eda9c242c

  13. dr October 4, 2018 at 3:07 pm

    FB”The Texas vistas stretch to familiar horizons as my car makes its way from an engagement in San Antonio towards home in Austin. The sights outside the window are so familiar that they give the afternoon a hue of comfort and permanence – two feelings that are far too often elusive in these dispiriting and tumultuous times.
    I was speaking to a gathering of the National Association of Women’s Judges, which seemed an auspicious audience considering the thunderclaps coming out of Washington, where schisms over gender,
    the rule of law, and judicial temperament have produced yet another tear in our beleaguered American fabric.
    By all accounts it seems that Judge Kavanaugh is headed to the Supreme Court. Many in the country cheer this as a rightful vindication. Many others feel a deep sting of defeat that they expect will plunge this nation into an era of further injustice. My own sense is that history will judge what has happened here very harshly, in keeping with how it will generally view an era of avarice, dysfunction, and prejudice.
    But any future vindication is small comfort to all those who are suffering and feel so marginalized in the here and now.
    I have preached a philosophy of “steady”, on this page, in my personal and media appearances, and in my recent book. Many of you have countered that with each successive blow the rock of steadiness feels increasingly slippery as we struggle for sure footing in the face of such outrage. I hear you and do not wish to come across as a Pollyanna. I do not minimize the challenges. But I also know that the future of this nation is not beyond your power.
    Core American VALUES are under attack, but that does not mean that there is nothing that individual citizens can do. For starters, what happens in this looming election, not only at the national level but in states and locally, will go a long way to determining the future of the nation as a whole. Beyond that, there is so much hurt and need that any act of empathy and assistance you can provide to your fellow citizens can start to make a difference.
    In this fight for the future of this nation, I believe the victors will be the ones who refuse to give up. There are powerful interests on both sides. There is money on both sides. There are millions of voters on both sides. But where lies justice? Where is hope? Where are our higher ideals?
    I want to be clear that when I say sides, I do not see merely partisan battle lines. We can and should have disagreements on policy. Such is the function of democracy. But we shouldn’t have disagreements on decency and truth. Over the course of my life, I have seen the fever of the moment break and our national direction reset. This will happen again. I am sure of it. And who will be there energized and ready to lead us into a better future?”<Dan the Man Rather

  14. Hatch~IT~man October 4, 2018 at 3:22 pm

    https://www.rawstory.com/2018/10/female-conservative-columnist-rails-hysterical-gop-senators-theyre-behaving-like-time-month/

    “Why aren’t you brave enough to talk to us and exchange with us?” one of the women asked, as The Hill reports. Senator Hatch waved her off with his hand dismissively.

    “Don’t you wave your hand at me!” she responded.

    As the Utah Senator who has steadfastly defended Kavanaugh walked into the elevator – where the activists are not allowed – he told them, “When you grow up I’ll be glad to.”

    “How dare you talk to women that way?” one of the protestors charged.

    Once inside, Sen. Hatch waved goodbye condescendingly to the women.

    https://www.rawstory.com/2018/10/watch-powerful-judiciary-committee-republican-waves-off-women-rape-survivors-tells-grow/

    https://thehill.com/homenews/senate/410004-hatch-tells-group-of-women-protestors-to-grow-up

  15. viv October 4, 2018 at 3:23 pm

    A lot of rickety old men are scurrying away from the evidence to ensure that they can’t “find” anything.

    The truth is they could catch Kavanaugh with his hand in the panties of a five-year-old and they would still vote to confirm him because conservatives have no principles and they never have had. They are always getting into power because there is no depth they won’t stoop to and they have Democrats fooled into believing they have moral standards so they’re never fought on the field of their hypocrisy. Democrats always want to fight on the basis of “we’re better people, even better Christians, look at our policies”, not on the basis of “you are a pack of dangerous assholes who want the worst possible life for 80% of Americans and only perverts vote for you” (which is equally true).

    They are not like us, and we forget that to our detriment. There is still plenty of America for us to lose to them and if we don’t fight we will lose that, too. Two years ago you would have said President Trump is an impossibility.

  16. Anonymous October 4, 2018 at 3:24 pm

    Collins is a blatant liar, she said it was a through investigation and she hadn’t even seen it, so she is a Yes, Flake is a probable yes. that leaves Murkowski and Muchin guy from WV.

    My feeling is he will be confirmed and the American public has been scammed again.

    Poor brett’s family, what about her, Dr. Ford will probable have to leave the country to get some peace.

    • VOTE NO October 4, 2018 at 5:43 pm

      https://www.politicususa.com/2018/10/04/murkowski-signals-women-kavanaugh.html

      “Murkowski has spent much of her day privately meeting with more than a dozen victims of sexual assault. While the meetings are no guarantee of how she’ll vote, it could offer insight into the Alaska senator’s decision-making process ahead of Friday’s key vote.”

      MAKE ALASKA PROUD LISA!

    • Lewsiffer October 4, 2018 at 6:54 pm

      That will certainly send the message to women that speaking up about abuse is not in their favor. We still have a ways to go. Sad.

  17. 2501 October 4, 2018 at 3:55 pm

    https://www.rawstory.com/2018/10/dem-senator-reveals-kavanaugh-supporters-threatened-female-staffers-hope-sexually-assaulted/

    “In order to rally their base, Republicans needed to smear, insult and dismiss Christine Blasey Ford — and by extension thousands of female sex-crimes victims. Their white-male base responds to hate and resentment — against minorities, against complaining women, against foreigners — and Republicans did not disappoint,” Rubin charged.

    “Sen. Lindsey O. Graham (R-S.C.) turned into a crazed screamer, Trump ignited the victim mentality and Republicans repeated the falsehood that Ford had no “corroboration”
    besides, what’s a little sexual assault when you’re young, right? It wasn’t actually rape, Senate candidate Rep. Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.) said. (North Dakotans ate it up; if Republican win the seat, chalk one up for
    ‘If it’s not rape, it doesn’t count.’)”

    https://theintercept.com/2018/05/31/missing-and-murdered-indigenous-women/

  18. Anonymous October 4, 2018 at 4:44 pm

    More damage control with “apology” from brett, word must be out that his temperament is huge problem. It was so obvious that he was angry not emotional. how dare any democrat or women ask him a legitimate question, after all his is entitled to this position.

    He was angry in his first “interview”.
    =============================================

    Brett Kavanaugh apologizes for being ‘very emotional’ in defensive Wall Street Journal editorial

    https://www.rawstory.com/2018/10/brett-kavanaugh-apologizes-emotional-defensive-wall-street-journal-editorial/

    • Anonymous October 4, 2018 at 5:39 pm

      https://www.rawstory.com/2018/10/cnn-panel-rips-brett-kavanaughs-apology-justices-dont-write-op-eds/

      ““This is the United States Supreme Court, and you do not get to sit on that court, in my view, by going up and yelling at United States senators. This is hurting the institution of the Supreme Court. This feels also very political to me, justices don’t write op-eds. I’m troubled by so many parts of this,”
      “This is like saying you’re sorry after you got caught,” “He’s doing this as a public relations move to try to convince people that he’s not unhinged and that he can control his temper.”

    • Anonymous October 4, 2018 at 7:03 pm

      https://www.rawstory.com/2018/10/kavanaugh-spooked-heres-new-op-ed-shows-hes-desperate-based-lie/

      He acknowledges that he was “emotional” at the hearings, saying: “I hope everyone can understand that I was there as a son, husband and dad. I testified with five people foremost in my mind: my mom, my dad, my wife, and most of all my daughters.”

      He doesn’t acknowledge anywhere in the op-ed that among the things he should not have said was his demanding to know whether a Democratic senator who admitted to having an alcoholic father drinks to excess herself. He doesn’t admit that he yelled at and interrupted senators repeatedly, especially Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), in an apparent show of misogynistic rage. He doesn’t admit that he blamed the accusations against him on “Democrats,” the “left,” “revenge for the Clintons,” and “pent-up anger about President Trump.”

      This conspiratorial theorizing not only insulted and condemned the portion of the country that identifies with the Democratic Party, but it disparages the women who brought the allegations against him by implicating them in some untoward plot.

      Kavanaugh also doesn’t address the fact that he outright threatened Democrats for opposing him, saying, “What goes around, comes around.”’

  19. Vote NO Lisa! October 4, 2018 at 5:37 pm

    https://www.rawstory.com/2018/10/lisa-murkowski-hosts-closed-door-meeting-sexual-assault-survivors-reviewing-kavanaugh-report/

    “Lisa Murkowski has been meeting with dozens of Alaskan women privately in her office today, including several sexual assault survivors,” MSNBC’s Capitol Hill correspondent Garrett Haake tweeted Thursday evening. “The last group of 18 just left, describing a very emotional, hour [-plus] meeting.”

    “The women tell me Murkowski was VERY engaged with their stories and heard them out as they urged her to vote against Kavanaugh,”

  20. 3Decades October 4, 2018 at 5:41 pm

    https://www.politicususa.com/2018/10/04/post-breaks-tradition-kavanaugh.html

    “[T]he reason not to vote for Mr. Kavanaugh is that senators have not been given sufficient information to consider him — and that he has given them ample evidence to believe he is unsuited for the job,” the Washington Post editorial board wrote. “The country deserves better.”

  21. Gary October 4, 2018 at 6:00 pm

    Here’s how I see this: Republican leadership will give Murkowski cover with Alaskan Native groups by allowing her to vote “no” on Kavanaugh. Flake and Collins vote “yes” and Pence brteaks the tie with a “yes”. Kavanaugh confirmed.

    • #1 ALASKA October 4, 2018 at 6:16 pm

      https://www.statista.com/statistics/232563/forcible-rape-rate-in-the-us-by-state/

      Forcible rape rate per 100,000 inhabitants in the United States in 2017

      This statistic shows the forcible rape rate per 100,000 inhabitants in 2017 in the United States, by state. The rate of forcible rape was highest in Alaska in 2017 with 116.7 reported cases per every 100,000 residents.

      {Only 23% of rapes are reported – less then 1 in 4}

  22. Anonymous October 4, 2018 at 6:02 pm

    https://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/whyi-didnt-report-my-rape-for-14-years_us_5bb64580e4b01470d04f9512

    ~IT~ was a formational aspect of my life. She’d been boxed into a terrible choice between what she felt was her duty as a citizen and her safety and reputation. “My responsibility,” she said, “is to tell the truth.”
    It’s impossible to know what Ford’s thought process was, what compelled her to finally go through with it. But in her July letter to Sen. Dianne Feinstein describing her assault, she mentioned an undercurrent of guilt. “It is upsetting to discuss sexual assault and its repercussions,” she wrote, “yet I felt guilty and compelled as a citizen about the idea of not saying anything.”
    I thought about this during Ford’s testimony. She saw her disclosure in terms of her obligations as a citizen, that the story of her assault could no longer be hers alone. She was describing a transfiguration, the singular becoming the plural, the personal becoming the public. She was giving us the story of her hard and ugly things, ceding control of it, entrusting us to shepherd it into the light.”

  23. RM October 4, 2018 at 7:05 pm

    “THE SENATE MUST CONFIRM JUDGE KAVANAUGH TO THE U.S. SENATE NOW,” the petition email read.
    Maddow then cited the president’s MAGA slogan by claiming that he should “make America proofread again.”

    “I know I shouldn’t care,” she added, “but holy mother of word processing.”

    https://www.rawstory.com/2018/10/make-america-proofread-msnbcs-rachel-maddow-ridicules-trump-campaign-dumb-error-kavanaugh-email/

  24. 3 October 4, 2018 at 7:10 pm

    https://www.rawstory.com/2018/10/moral-obligation-three-kavanaugh-college-buddies-come-forward-bust-lies-drunkenness/

    “We each asserted that Brett lied to the Senate by stating, under oath, that he never drank to the point of forgetting what he was doing,” Charles Ludington, Lynne Brookes and Elizabeth Swisher wrote in an editorial for the Washington Post. “That is our one and only message, but it is a significant one,” they wrote. “For we each believe that telling the truth, no matter how difficult, is a moral obligation for our nation’s leaders.”

    “No one should be able to lie their way onto the Supreme Court,” the trio continued. “Honesty is the glue that holds together a society of laws. Lies are the solvent that dissolves those bonds.”

    SnOw FLAKE? “Jeff Flake Says Brett Kavanaugh’s Nomination Is ‘Over’ If He Lied to the Senate. “

  25. Anonymous October 4, 2018 at 9:38 pm

    The Democrats are outraged over what is not in the report. Boof’s classmates say they tried to contact the FBI about corroborating Ramirez and Boof’s lying about his drinking but were ignored. There are four affidavits that constitute prior consistent statements that have been ignored.

    The Republicans are bragging they have letters from Boof’s classmates corroborating his definition of boof and Devil’s Triangle, the Wikipedia pages of which are constantly being edited to support the lie.

    There is only ONE report and it’s in a locked room. So all 50 senators have to share it.

    This entire farce couldn’t be more tainted and corrupt.

    Meanwhile Flake and Collins have the cover they need to confirm him. Never mind the exposed blatant PERJURY.

    Retired Justice Stevens does not support confirming Boof due to his inappropriate and disqualifying behavior during the hearing and his obvious partisanship.

    Don’t forget that after he’s confirmed and seated, if the Democrats take the House Nancy Pelosi has no interest in impeaching Fake Justice Boof Kavanaughty, Georgetown Perp.

Comments are closed.